Gardening at my house in Drumshanbo, Co. Leitrim, Ireland

I ordered some Tomatillo seeds from the James Wong Homegrown Revolution range from Suttons.co.uk . I like salsa and think it’s always worth trying to grow something as you never know what success you might have. I did plant them rather late, July 30th, but hey, you never know. I planted 3 seeds and as you can see in the photos, they did germinate. I put them on the window sill in my office so they would get plenty of heat and warmth.

IMG_0736[1]

It’s now October 3rd and the tomatillo plants have grown quite large. There are several yellow flowers on the plants. They are not self pollinating so you have to pollinate the flowers by hand. The plays are indoors so no bees to handle the job of pollination. You could use a paintbrush or a cottom swab and spread the pollen by hand from one flower to another. I don’t know if I will get any tomatillos so late in the year but I’ll let you know if I get any success.

Tomatillo plants with several yellow flowers.

Tomatillo plants with several yellow flowers.

The 3 plants have grown quite large.

The 3 plants have grown quite large.

Freshly repotted and ready for, hopefully, continued growing.

Freshly repotted and ready for, hopefully, continued growing.

I don’t think salsa will go very well with the Christmas dinner, but salsa on New Year’s eve will be a treat!

Salsa will be easy to make as I have most the ingredients growing:

  • Tomatillos
  • Cayene peppers
  • Coriander

I just need some limes and some salt and pepper to taste. If not this year, definately next.

Leave a comment